The Future of Work Studio - Dr Libby Sander
Bond Newsroom
Episode 5 of The Floorplan: How clutter affects us
0:00
-29:24

Episode 5 of The Floorplan: How clutter affects us

The scientific effects of clutter on work and life, how clutter can help creativity, and how unclean really are our offices?

Matt and I talk through the financial, mental, and physical cost of a messy office, and what the research says about why we should get rid of clutter. But fear not, desktop hoarders! There is a loophole. We also take a look at Matt's desk, applying the science and seeing how his work habits stack up.

For more detail on the science of clutter, you can read my articles on this topic in the Harvard Business Review - The Case for Finally Cleaning Your Desk. Read it here.

And in Newsweek - 'Marie Kondo Tidying Up': This is What Clutter Does Your Brain and Body. Read it here.

I’d love to hear your thoughts about clutter at work or at home, and please share your desk photos (good and bad)!

Here’s a clip of when Matt shows me the photo of his desk…

See you on Sunday for the next edition of The Sunday Studio!

Libby x

The Future of Work Studio - Dr Libby Sander is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

The Future of Work Studio - Dr Libby Sander
Bond Newsroom
My passion is to use my research to help reimagine work so we can lead more meaningful and creative lives. In my posts here, I’ll cover not only the trends and latest research on everything to do with work and the workplace but also what to do about it.